Needle pokes for pleasure

Being in a serious relationship with my RE means being poked and prodded on a regular basis. So I never imagined voluntarily signing up to be stuck by more needles. 

Recently I saw an awesome groupon deal for acupuncture. It was from this little hippie place that happened to specialize in alternative fertility treatments. Sign me up! 

Before getting started I talked to my acupuncturist about our 2 and a half years of trying to get pregnant. Ever since stopping clomid my cycles have been unpredictable and have ranged between 16 to 60 days. Yesterday I started my second period in the month of May. Just lovely. 

My goal this summer is to take care of myself and try to naturally regulate my cycles back to 28 days. I’m doing yoga, acupuncture, trying some herbal concoctions, and relaxing from my classroom! 

I’m not the kind of person who enjoys needles. I’m pretty sure my chart says I look like I’m going to pass out during blood draws. The nurse always asks me ten times if I’m doing ok.

So the acupuncturist showed me the needles and inserted one on herself first. She made me take deep breaths and started by placing a needle below my big toe on my foot. I didn’t feel a thing! She placed a few more on different parts of my feet and ankles, one on my tummy, a few on my hands, and one right on top of my noggin! Then she placed a heat lamp over my toes and I laid listening to ocean sounds for about 20 minutes. It was soooo relaxing! After teaching I really appreciate quiet moments and this was absolutely wonderful! 

After laying on my back, she took out the needles and repeated the same thing but on my back instead. In total the appointment was about an hour and I left feeling absolutely great! I definitely plan on returning. 

On a side note, I’ve been having some intense cramps, pressure, and sharp pains since I started my period. I’ve never felt like this before and it can’t be attributed to any meds because I stopped clomid in March. My whole abdomen feels tender to touch and I didn’t sleep well because it hurt so bad. The acupuncture helped in the moment but I’m back at home and feel the pain again. Anyone ever experience something like this? I’ve been using a heating pad and downing Tylenol, but if it doesn’t get any better I might be heading back into my doc’s office. 

2 thoughts on “Needle pokes for pleasure

  1. Boo for two periods in one month! Acupuncture sounds interesting. I do yoga and it has really helped (there are even yoga routines on YouTube specifically for PMs and cramps). I’ve experienced different ranges of periods from teen years through both miscarriages, but unfortunately my default is pretty intense (although not endometriosis). I haven’t experienced the whole abdomen hurting though. That’s probably something you should get checked out. Yay, another doctor visit….*sarcasm*. 😊

    Like

    1. I just looked up and tried a few yoga videos, thanks for the tip! ☺️ I’m feeling a lot better now, not sure if it was the acupuncture or not, but I’m definitely going to go back! If anything it really helps with stress relief.

      Like

Leave a Reply

