Unexpected ER visit

I spent early this morning in the ER. Last week I started getting a chest cold that was going around my classroom. Great. It turned out to be the most stressful week of the school year so far with a mock state inspection, a formal observation from my principal, and hosting the preK holiday events. But I made it to Friday! 

Last night my husband and I decided to go out and grab a few last minute Christmas gifts. We were in the middle of Kohls when I grabbed his arm and said, “I need to go home. NOW.” I immediately came home and threw up the taco dinner we had a few hours earlier. 

I decided to call it a night and went to bed. Every two hours I woke from a dead sleep to get sick again. I don’t even know how this was possible because it felt like there was literally nothing left in my body! I kept asking my husband if he was OK, thinking I had food poisoning, but he was just fine. At 6am my fever spiked to 100.5 and I made the call to go to the ER. 

When I arrived and said I was 21 weeks pregnant, the nurse immediately got me into a room. She checked my vitals and we listened to baby’s heartbeat. It was a solid 140 bpm. I immediately felt relieved knowing baby was still doing ok in there with my violent stomach cramping.

  
The doctor came in and said I had a GI virus that’s been going around lately. I was severely dehydrated so they hooked me up to IV fluids and monitored me for a few hours. Since I’m pregnant I can’t take an anti viral so unfortunately I’m stuck flushing out the virus at home with lots of liquids. The goal is more liquids in than out. 

She also gave me an anti neaseaus medication that I’m just holding on to unless I start getting violently sick again. I’m trying not to take anything unless I absolutely have to. 

This whole ordeal is just a reminder to me how strong our little one is. He/she held on when we had our ectopic pregnancy scare and kept growing regardless of how many times I’ve puked over the past 20 weeks. Stay strong baby! Mama is trying to do the same. 

9 thoughts on “Unexpected ER visit

Leave a Reply

