2016 resolutions

Every year I make a resolution. It’s more of a mantra for the coming year. It’s something I keep in the back of my mind to keep me going and focus on something larger I want to achieve in myself. 

Last year’s resolution was “gain strength from your struggle.” We had been trying to conceive for two years at the time and just beginning medicated cycles. I didn’t even realize how important that phrase would be to me in 2015. It’s what I told myself through every failed cycle, pregnancy announcement, baby shower, and hurtful comment. I’m going through this and damnit, I’m going to come out on the other side even stronger! 

So on one of our many three hour car rides to visit family this holiday season, I thought about my resolution for 2016. I decided on one word: enjoy

We are so incredibly grateful to be pregnant right now. There wasn’t an easy path to get here, and as I’m discovering, pregnancy can be difficult too. But in my hardest moments I remind myself how hard we worked to get here and how lucky we are to experience this.

So when my head is in a toilet bowl puking, or as I eat rolaids like candy, I remind myself to enjoy this process. My husband and I also decided on our many car rides that we will not pursue fertility treatments for a second child. We’re treating this pregnancy and child as our one and only, another reason to truly enjoy and soak in every moment. I’m even going to try to do a natural birth so I can really experience everything! (Am I crazy?!?!?) 

What are your 2016 resolutions? Do you make a personal mantra? 

One thought on “2016 resolutions

  1. We have made the same decision. This will be our one and only child. I can’t take the drugs again. I was miserable and I pregnancy has been tough. If we do want another child we will adopt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

