I can’t do it all

If infertility hasn’t already taught me this, I’m sure learning it with this pregnancy.

I’m definitely feeling pregnant. I’m feeling the limitations of my body. No matter how I stubbornly insist on doing things for myself, there are things I just can’t do. And I’m forced to ask for help. 

My husband left for a week long flight around the world. Usually I enjoy my alone time and I take pride in my independent pilot wife lifestyle. Yeah, he’s gone but I’m not stopping my life. 

This time is different. I told my husband I have a legitament fear of getting stuck in the bathtub (sciatic back pain is no joke!). We’re also projected to get a massive amount of snow later this week. Instead of busting out the snowblower, I’m stuck inside so I don’t fall on my big belly. I had to hire the neighbor boys to shovel my driveway this week. 

I don’t like this feeling. I hate asking for help. I don’t like having limitations. I’m the type of person who does things just because someone else says I can’t. 

But I have a feeling this is just the beginning. Being married to a charter pilot also means solo parenting for weeks on end. And I think that also means I’ll continue to admit that I can’t do it all on my own. 

4 thoughts on “I can’t do it all

  1. Girl, I know what you mean! My husband is gone for six weeks. We are going to start “trying” in March when he comes home but this trip is a solid reminder of what the future holds. Can we see the bump?!

    Like

  2. I am in the same boat as you! It’s tough when they are working and traveling. Hopefully you have some friends or family nearby!

    Like

Leave a Reply

