Is this your first? 

It’s the question I get asked the most besides “Is it a boy or girl?” And I can’t answer that question because we won’t know the answer until birth! 

When I’m asked if this is my first child, I just smile and politely answer yes. Even though it’s not the truth I’m not sure how to really answer the question without going into a long explanation, especially to random strangers who are simply making conversation and smiling at my bump. 

What I want to say is:

No, this is not my first child. 

This is my first child to make it to this point. 

I should have a 2 year old. 

I think about my first child a lot. Especially being pregnant and experiencing milestones my first pregnancy never did. 

In my heart I’ve been a mommy for years, but it’s only starting to show to the outside world. 

It’s a simple question most pregnant women get asked weekly but for some of us it doesn’t have such a simple answer. 

2 thoughts on “Is this your first? 

  1. I get this so much. It’s strange because I should have a two year old and a one year old, but I have none. Looking forward to the big reveal at the end! Hang in there mama!

    Like

Leave a Reply

