Unexplained pretty much sums up my life

Do you ever feel like you always do things the hard way? It’s almost become a sick joke at this point between my husband and I. When there are more than one way of doing things, we always do it the hard way. And not by choice.

I would LOVE to haphazardly have unprotected sex and WHOOPS! Now we’re having a baby! But unfortunately that’s not in the cards for us.

When we first decided to start trying to conceive, I remember telling my husband that I’m glad we’re so young because it might take a while… I don’t know why I ever said that. I didn’t know about our impending fertility issues. But I did know we always do things the hard way. Did I mention it was 106 degrees at our outdoor wedding at our beautiful ceremony sight that was destroyed by a tornado 2 weeks prior? Yeah….. There was a lot of photoshop used in the making of our wedding photos.

So today was our first appointment with a reproductive endocrinologist. After reviewing the tests I’ve already had done my doc filed us in the category of “unexplained infertility.” She prescribed more blood tests to figure out if I ovulate or not (because it’s a mystery to us all!) and an ultrasound to check cysts on my ovaries. The word surgery was thrown out there and that’s when my head started to swim. But let’s hope that doesn’t have to happen.

She also brought up our timing issue. My husband is gone for extended periods of time and some months we just can’t line things up right and miss that window. I call it prime time! And don’t even get me started on those stupid ovulation pee sticks…

Anyways, she suggested starting with an IUI because of my husband’s work schedule. Does anyone else have fertility issues on top of difficult schedules or traveling? I’m not going to lie, I would love to fly out to where my husband is stuck for work during prime time. Fun, but obviously not practical.

So I’ll go back this week to have an ultrasound and blood work. I’m praying everything comes back OK and I’ll join the clomid club and go from there! Ugh…. Always the hard way.

Leave a Reply

